Nine New Names Announced For Women’s Royal Rumble Match

Thirty female Superstars will fight for a title match opportunity when the 2019 Women’s Royal Rumble Match takes place on Sunday, January 27. The winner of the massive melee will go on to challenge for either the Raw Women’s Championship or the SmackDown Women’s Championship at WrestleMania 35.

On Sunday, live on WWE’s official Twitter page, a new Superstar was revealed every 30 minutes as an official entrant in the Women’s Royal Rumble Match. The following nine names were announced:

  • Charlotte Flair
  • Naomi
  • Tamina
  • Peyton Royce
  • Billie Kay
  • Dana Brooke
  • Lana
  • Nia Jax
  • Nikki Cross

This brings the total number of confirmed participants to 21. Those previously announced include:

  • Alicia Fox
  • Bayley
  • Carmella (earned the coveted No. 30 spot by winning WWE Mixed Match Challenge with R-Truth)
  • Ember Moon
  • Liv Morgan
  • Mandy Rose
  • Mickie James
  • Natalya
  • Ruby Riott
  • Sarah Logan
  • Sonya Deville
  • Zelina Vega

With Sasha Banks challenging Ronda Rousey for the Raw Women’s Championship at the Royal Rumble pay-per-view, no longer has her listed as competing the Women’s Royal Rumble Match. Banks was listed as an entrant as recently as Tuesday.

History was made last year when Asuka won the first-ever Women’s Royal Rumble Match. It starts with two participants, and Superstars enter the ring at equal intervals. This continues until all 30 Superstars have entered the bout. Elimination occurs when a Superstar is thrown over the top rope, and both feet hit the floor. The last Superstar in the ring will be declared the victor.